2018 Victorian Sport Awards

Waverley Gymnastics Centre are incredibly proud to announce that our own John Hart and Jessica Haintz have been selected as finalists for the prestigious VicSport Victorian Sport Awards!

Each year the Victorian Sport Awards honour those who have made an outstanding contribution to sport in Victoria as individual or team athletes, coaches, administrators and volunteers from both metropolitan and regional areas in Victoria.

Entrants in the Awards are nominated by state sporting associations, regional sport assemblies, teammates, club members, coaches or their local community in recognition of their outstanding contribution to sport and active recreation. With only four finalists selected from the hundreds of nominees in each category it is a wonderful honour for both John and Jessica to make it through to this stage of the process!

John is a finalist for the La Trobe University Victorian Coach of the Year. Throughout 2018, John has coached his athletes at state, national and international events. He coached the Waverley Gymnastics Centre Team at the Victorian State Championships and was selected as a Victorian Team Coach for the Australian Championships. John mentors and leads a team of fifteen elite gymnastics coaches in addition to volunteering his time to be the Coach Representative on the High Performance Gymnastics Advisory Panel.

Jessica is a finalist for the Sports Accounting Australia Victorian Official of the Year. Jessica is a Level 2 Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Judge and has officiated at numerous gymnastics competitions throughout 2018 at international level including the 2018 Commonwealth Games and the Pacific Rim Championships in Colombia. Jessica also officiated at numerous national Gymnastics events including the Australian National Championships and the Victorian Championships. Jessica runs several competitions at Waverley Gymnastics Centre and volunteers on the Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Technical Committee and Advisory Group.

The 2018 Victorian Sport Awards will be held at Marvel Stadium on Wednesday 20 February 2019. Click here to view the full list of finalists.